Skip to main content

Timothy Collins Named Chairman of Yale School of Management Advisory Board

Ripplewood Holdings founder Timothy Collins '82 has been named chairman of the Yale SOM Board of Advisors.

Timothy C. Collins, CEO and senior managing director of Ripplewood Holdings LLC, has been appointed chairman of the Yale School of Management Board of Advisors.

Collins, a 1982 graduate of the Yale School of Management, succeeds Ellis B. Jones '79, CEO of Wasserstein & Co., who will remain on the board. Collins has been a board member since 2003; he will serve a three-year term as chairman, ending June 30, 2015.

"Tim is a dedicated supporter of Yale and the school," said Dean Edward A. Snyder. "He has an extraordinary global network and a deep understanding of markets and the complexities of the modern economy, and will contribute much to the Board of Advisors and the Yale School of Management. I look forward to working with him as chair."

Collins has served as CEO and senior managing director of Ripplewood Holdings LLC, which he founded in 1995. He serves as chairman of the Investment and Strategy Committee of the Board of Directors of RHJ International, which acquired Kleinwort Benson in July 2010.

Before founding Ripplewood, Collins worked for Onex Corporation, Lazard Frères & Company, Booz Allen Hamilton, and Cummins Engine Company. Collins is a director of Citigroup, Inc.

He is involved in several not-for-profit and public sector activities, including the Trilateral Commission, Yale Divinity School Advisory Board, and the Council on Foreign Relations, and is a member of the Investment Advisory Committee to the New York State Common Retirement Fund and the Board of Overseers for Weill Cornell Medical College. Collins also serves on the board of the Tony Blair Foundation.

Collins has a BA in philosophy from DePauw University and a MBA in public and private management from the Yale School of Management. He received an honorary doctorate of humane letters from DePauw University in 2004 and is an adjunct professor at New York University.