Skip to main content

Professor Emeritus Arthur Swersey Wins 2019 Alumni Engagement Award

Swersey received the award during the recent Reunion Weekend.

Arthur Swersey, a beloved, retired professor who taught generations of Yale School of Management students, has won the 2019 Yale SOM Alumni Relations Faculty Award for Outstanding Alumni Engagement.

A professor emeritus of operations research, Swersey was recognized for his dedication to the Yale SOM alumni community. Kavitha Bindra ’05, assistant dean of alumni relations and herself an alumna, presented the award to Swersey on May 3 in front of hundreds of alumni attending the Yale SOM Reunion Weekend.

“Your contributions to the alumni community are too numerous to go into intricate detail, but as your former student, I can attest to how much you care about the progress of everyone you taught during your time at SOM,” Bindra said. “Just about every alumnus I speak with asks about you and reminisces about the Cranberries case or learning queuing theory from you.”

Swersey thanked the alumni. “It was especially exciting to receive this award in front of so many of you in Zhang Auditorium at the start of this year’s reunion,” he said. “I am grateful for the decades of support I have received from our alumni, and I will always treasure my interactions with them.”

Among Swersey’s contributions to the alumni community, Bindra cited his “encyclopedic knowledge about our alumni” in helping the Donaldson Fellows selection committee choose the best candidates for the fellowship.

“Thanks to you, alumni have deepened their connection to Yale SOM, and you have drawn them into closer relationships with current students,” Bindra said. “Thanks for all you do to engage alumni in advancing Yale SOM’s mission to educate leaders for business and society.”

This was not the first time that Swersey’s efforts have been recognized with awards from Yale SOM. He won the Award for Excellence in Core Teaching in 2016; a Faculty Teaching Award from the MBA for Executives program in 2010, 2012, 2015, and 2016; and an Excellence in Teaching Award from the Yale SOM Alumni Association in 1989 and 2005.