The Academic Calendar

Fall 2018

  • August 8-10 (Wed.-Fri.)
    Class of 2020 Math Camp (by invitation only)
  • August 13-19 (Mon.-Sun.)
    Incoming MBA Orientation
  • August 16-17 (Thu.-Fri.)
    Incoming MAM Orientation (recommended sessions)
  • August 20-24 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Incoming MAM & MMS Orientation (required sessions) dates subject to change
  • August 20-24 (Mon.-Fri.)
    MGT 401 Managing Groups & Teams meets (all sessions required for this core course)
  • August 27 (Mon.)
    Session-1 core classes begin
  • August 29 (Wed.)
    Fall-term elective classes begin
  • August 31 (Fri.)
    Make-up day: Monday courses meet (core and electives); Stata meets
  • September 3 (Mon.)
    Labor Day, classes do not meet; administrative offices closed
  • September 5 (Wed.)
    Drop Period Ends, 5:00 p.m. (SOM electives- full semester and session-1))
  • September 7 (Fri.)
    Drop Period Ends, 5:00 p.m. (nonSOM electives)
  • September 7 (Fri.)
    Stata Training Session (core course requirement for 1st year MBAs)
  • September 20 (Thu.)
    Core exam (MGT 403 Probability Modeling & Statistics Part 1), 6:00-8:30 pm
  • September 28 (Fri.)
    Core course meets (MGT 403 Probability Modeling & Statistics)
  • October 11 (Thu.)
    Session-1 classes end (core and electives)
  • October 12 (Fri.)
    Session-1 elective final exam period
  • October 12-17 (Fri.-Wed.)
    Core final exam period
  • October 12-18 (Fri.-Thu.)
    Global Business and Society (GBS) Project at Synchrony Financial
  • October 15-19 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Global Network Week for MBA and MAM; classes do not meet
  • October 22 (Mon.)
    Classes resume; session-2 classes begin (core and electives)
  • November 2 (Fri.)
    Session-1 grades due, 5 p.m.
  • November 5 (Mon.)
    Auction and GSR Information Session, 4:15 p.m. - 5:15 p.m., 2400
  • November 19-23 (Mon.-Fri.)
    November recess
  • November 26 (Mon.)
    Classes resume
  • December 4 (Tue.)
    MGT 401 Managing Groups & Teams meets (see syllabus for cohort schedule)
  • December 11 (Tue.)
    Classes end
  • December 12 (Wed.)
    Session-2 classes that meet on Wednesdays only end
  • December 12-14 (Wed.-Fri.)
    Elective final exam period
  • December 13 (Thu.)
    Session-2 classes that meet on Thursdays only end
  • December 13-18 (Thu.-Tue.)
    Core final exam period
  • December 19 (Wed.)
    Winter recess begins

Spring 2019

  • January 2 (Wed.)
    Fall term grades due, 5 p.m.
  • January 14-17 (Mon.-Thu.)
    MGT 418 Global Virtual Teams meets (this is a required core course)
  • January 14 (Mon.)
    Yale College & Graduate School courses begin
  • January 18 (Fri.)
    Yale College and Graduate School Make-up Day (Monday classes meet, Friday classes do not meet)
  • January 21 (Mon.)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; classes do not meet; administrative offices closed
  • January 22 (Tue.)
    YSOM Electives begin; spring-1 core classes begin
  • January 25 (Fri.)
    YSOM Make-up Day; Monday classes meet
  • January 29 (Tue.)
    Drop period ends (session-1 and full semester electives), 5 p.m.
  • March 5 (Tue.)
    Classes end (elective and core)
  • March 6 (Wed.)
    Classes that meet on Wednesdays only end
  • March 6-8 (Wed.-Fri.)
    Session-1 final exam period (electives & core)
  • March 7 (Thu.)
    Classes that meet on Thursdays only end
  • March 11-22 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Global Studies Requirement; Global Network Week for MBA and MAM; classes do not meet
  • March 22 (Fri.)
    Session-1 grades due, 5 p.m.
  • March 25 (Mon.)
    Classes resume; session-2 classes begin (core and elective)
  • April 2 (Tue.)
    Innovator Pitch Sessions (MGT421), 11:35 a.m. -12:55 p.m.- all cohorts required
  • April 19 (Fri.)
    Good Friday; administrative offices closed, Yale College and Graduate School courses meet
  • May 7 (Tue.)
    Classes end (core and elective)
  • May 8 (Wed.)
    Session-2 classes that meet on Wednesdays only end
  • May 8-14 (Wed.-Tue.)
    Final exam period (core and elective)
  • May 9 (Thu.)
    Session-2 classes that meet on Thursdays only end
  • May 15 (Wed.)
    YSOM graduating student spring-term grades due, 5 p.m.
  • May 20 (Mon.)
    Commencement
  • May 29 (Wed.)
    YSOM continuing student spring-term grades due, 5 p.m.