Skip to main content

EMBA Class of 2022 Selects Winners of Annual Teaching Awards

Students honored faculty who teach in the integrated MBA core curriculum and in each of the MBA for Executives program’s three focus areas.

Professors Jeffrey Garten, William Goetzmann, Doug Kysar, Sonia Marciano, and Marcella Nunez-Smith are the winners of the Yale School of Management’s MBA for Executives Teaching Awards, selected in a vote by the EMBA Class of 2022.

EMBA teaching award winners
Clockwise from top left: Jeffrey Garten, Doug Kysar, Sonia Marciano, William Goetzmann, and Marcella Nunez-Smith

The students honored faculty in each of the MBA for Executives program’s three focus areas—healthcare, sustainability, and asset management—as well as recognizing teaching in the integrated MBA core curriculum taken by all EMBA students. 

“It’s a sincere privilege to teach and learn from the EMBA students, all of whom enrich the program with their unique accomplishments and perspectives,” said Nunez-Smith, associate dean for health equity research; professor of medicine and epidemiology; and director of the Pozen-Commonwealth Fund Fellowship in Health Equity Leadership. Nunez-Smith won the Healthcare Teaching Award.

“I’m grateful the students recognize the importance of building education on health disparities into their educational and professional tracks,” she said. “This award to me is a deeply gratifying sign that these leaders are equipped and eager to address health equity issues as they move forward in their careers.”

Kysar, who won the Sustainability Teaching Award, said that the graduating EMBA class should be proud of their accomplishments. Kysar is deputy dean and the Joseph M. Field ’55 Professor of Law at Yale Law School. He also won this award in 2017, 2019, 2020, and 2021.

“I’m thrilled to be recognized by the sustainability students from this year’s EMBA class,” Kysar said. “Working with them is the most rewarding, enjoyable, and inspiring thing I do at Yale.”

Jeffrey Garten, dean emeritus and Juan Trippe Professor in the Practice Emeritus of International Trade, Finance, and Business, won the Asset Management Teaching Award, an honor he also received in 2018 and 2020.

Garten shared this year’s Asset Management Teaching Award with William Goetzmann, the Edwin J. Beinecke Professor of Finance and Management Studies, who is also a 2017 and 2021 recipient. “It is an incredible honor to receive this award and to share it with Will Goetzmann,” Garten said.

The Core and Advanced Management Teaching Award went to lecturer in management Sonia Marciano, who is also a clinical professor of management and organizations at New York University Stern School of Business. Marciano is a repeat winner, too. She received the award in 2011, 2012, 2018, and 2019.