Skip to main content

Changing of the Guard

As the academic year draws to a close, so too does another year for the SOM Alumni Advisory Board.

In a normal year, the AAB would meet twice in-person to advise leadership and work with staff on shared priorities.  Working exclusively virtually has been mentally exhausting, but the Board never wavered and achieved significant results for alumni and SOM. 

Key AAB-SOM partnerships helped grow the alumni admissions referral program; we launched the ‘Let’s Discuss: Career Series’ events; we helped recruit new SOM social media ambassadors; and we drove an initiative to engage “chapter-less alumni” with newly created chapters.  The AAB also expanded its scope of support beyond the full-time MBA program to the other degree programs, including specific efforts around EMBA and the Global Network programs.  The last two years we also worked closely with current students, as they navigated a unique, pandemic affected business school experience.    

We owe our thanks and gratitude to an accomplished class of Board members who are rolling off the AAB on June 30.  These include:   

  • Ben Freedman ’15 MBA; 3 years; Career Chair
  • Charles Liu ’11 MBA; 3 years; Nominations Chair
  • Jeff Juger ’11 MBA; 6 years; Admissions Chair, Vice Chair, Chair
  • Manka Khanna ’18 MBA; 3 years; Global Chapters Chair
  • Ramin Abtahi ’02 MBA; 3 years; Career Chair

I am excited about the new class of AAB members, who were confirmed through voting last month.  They are accomplished in their careers, but more importantly, bring passion and interest to contribute time to the priorities of the AAB.  We welcome board newcomers:

  • Chetan Parekh ’06 MBA
  • Lee Race ’93 MBA
  • Meelendra Singh ’20 MAM
  • Todd Jorgenson ’20 MBA

I also leave the leadership of the AAB in very capable hands.  We recently elected new Officers to a 2-year term.  

  • Matthew Broder ’87 MBA is the new Chair.  Matt served as Secretary of the AAB for the last two years and was someone I leaned on significantly for advice and counsel.  Matt’s institutional knowledge, steadiness, and wisdom have earned him the respect of the AAB and SOM leadership, and I am excited to see how the AAB will evolve under his leadership.  
  • Tony Lynn ’14 MBA is our new Vice Chair.  Tony most recently was our Admissions Committee Chair, where he helped grow the alumni referral program and very importantly made significant contributions to SOM’s diversity and inclusion recruiting initiatives.  
  • Jill Bauman ’87 MPPM is our new Secretary.  As a non-profit and for-profit CEO for the last 25 years, Jill brings lots of experience building and managing Boards.  Her leadership will undoubtedly help the AAB become an even more effective body.  

As I conclude my six years of service on the AAB, I would like to say thanks to all the AAB members with whom I served for their advice, encouragement, and support.  I also want to thank the leaders at SOM who engaged so readily with our Board, with special thanks reserved for Courtney Lightfoot and Margie Adler in the office of Alumni Relations.

As always, the AAB’s mission is to advance the values and mission of SOM, to collaborate with and counsel SOM leadership, and to engage with alumni, students, and greater Yale.  If you have ideas or thoughts for the Administration, or suggestions for ways to support and engage our alumni, please drop us a note at  We look forward to supporting you in the 2022-23 term.