The Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

 Fall 2019    Spring 2020

Fall 2019

August 7-9 (Wed.-Fri.) Class of 2021 Math Camp (by invitation only)
August 12-18 (Mon.-Sun.) Incoming MBA Orientation
August 16-27 (Fri.-Tue.) Incoming MAM & MMS Orientation
August 19-23 (Mon.-Fri.) MGT 401 Managing Groups & Teams meets (all sessions required for this core course)
August 26 (Mon.) Session-1 core classes begin
August 28 (Wed.) Fall-term elective classes begin, Yale College and Graduate School classes begin
August 30 (Fri.) Make-up day: Monday courses meet (SOM core , SOM electives & nonSOM electives); Stata Training Sessions (core requirement for 1st yr MBAs)
September 2 (Mon.) Labor Day, classes do not meet; administrative offices closed
September 4 (Wed.) Drop Period Ends, 5:00 p.m. (SOM electives- full semester and session-1)
September 6 (Fri.) Drop Period Ends, 5:00 p.m. (nonSOM electives)
September 19 (Thu.) Core exam: MGT 403 Probability Modeling & Statistics Part 1, 6:00-8:30 pm
September 27 (Fri.) Core course meets: MGT 403 Probability Modeling & Statistics
October 10 (Thu.) Session-1 classes end (core and electives)
October 11 (Fri.) Session-1 elective final exam period
October 11-16 (Fri.-Wed.) Core final exam period
October 14-18 (Mon.-Fri.) Global Network Week for MBA and MAM; MMS-GBS project; classes do not meet
October 21 (Mon.) Classes resume; session-2 classes begin (core and electives)
October 28 (Mon.) Drop period ends (session-2 electives), 5:00 p.m.
November 1 (Fri.) Session-1 grades due, 5 p.m. (with some exceptions)
November 4 (Mon.) Auction and GSR Information Session, 4:15 p.m. - 5:15 p.m., 2400
November 25-29 (Mon.-Fri.) November recess
December 2 (Mon.) Classes resume
December 10 (Tue.) Classes end
December 11 (Wed.) Session-2, classes that meet on Wednesdays only, end
December 11-13 (Wed.-Fri.) Elective final exam period
December 11-17 (Wed.-Tue.) Core final exam period
December 12 (Thu.) Session-2 classes that meet on Thursdays only end
December 18 (Wed.) Winter recess begins

Spring 2020

January 2 (Thu.) Fall term grades due, 5 p.m. (with some exceptions)
January 13 (Mon.) Yale College & Graduate School courses begin
January 13-16 (Mon.-Thu.) MGT 418 Global Virtual Teams and MGT 408 Intro to Negotiation meet (required core courses)
January 17 (Fri.) Yale College and Graduate School Make-up Day (Monday classes meet, Friday classes do not meet)
January 20 (Mon.) Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; classes do not meet; administrative offices closed
January 21 (Tue.) YSOM Electives begin; spring-1 core classes begin
January 24 (Fri.) YSOM Make-up Day; Monday classes meet
January 27 (Mon.) Drop period ends (session-1 and full semester Som electives and nonSOM electives), 5 p.m.
March 3 (Tue.) Classes end (elective and core)
March 4 (Wed.) Classes that meet on Wednesdays only end
March 4-6 (Wed.-Fri.) Session-1 final exam period (electives & core)
March 5 (Thu.) Classes that meet on Thursdays only end
March 9-20 (Mon.-Fri.) Global Studies Requirement; Global Network Week for MBA and MAM; classes do not meet
March 20 (Fri.) Session-1 grades due, 5 p.m. (with some exceptions)
March 23 (Mon.) Classes resume; session-2 classes begin (core and elective)
March 30 (Mon.) Drop period ends (session-2 electives), 5:00 p.m.
March 31 (Tue.) Innovator Pitch Sessions (MGT421), 11:35 a.m. -12:55 p.m.- all cohorts required
April 10 (Fri.) Good Friday; administrative offices closed, Yale College and Graduate School courses meet
May 5 (Tue.) Classes end (core and elective)
May 6 (Wed.) Session-2 classes that meet on Wednesdays only end
May 6-12 (Wed.-Tue.) Final exam period (core and elective)
May 7 (Thu.) Session-2 classes that meet on Thursdays only end
May 13 (Wed.) YSOM graduating student spring-term grades due, 5 p.m.
May 18 (Mon.) Commencement
May 27 (Wed.) YSOM continuing student spring-term grades due, 5 p.m. (with some exceptions)