Fiona M. Scott Morton

Theodore Nierenberg Professor of Economics

Faculty Directory

Fiona M. Scott Morton is the Theodore Nierenberg Professor of Economics at the Yale University School of Management where she has been on the faculty since 1999. Her area of academic research is empirical industrial organization, with a focus on empirical studies of competition in areas such as pricing, entry, and product differentiation. Her published articles range widely across industries, from magazines, to shipping, to pharmaceuticals, to internet retailing, and are published in leading economics journals. From 2011-12 Professor Scott Morton served as the Deputy Assistant Attorney General for Economics at the Antitrust Division of the U.S. Department of Justice, where she helped enforce the nation’s antitrust laws. At Yale SOM she teaches courses in the area of competitive strategy. She served as Associate Dean from 2007-10 and she won the School’s teaching award twice. She has served in an editing role on various academic economics journals, has won several research grants from the National Science Foundation, and is a Research Associate at NBER. Professor Scott Morton has a BA from Yale and a PhD from MIT, and previously taught at the Graduate Schools of Business at the University of Chicago and Stanford University. She is a frequent speaker at seminars and conferences across the United States and Europe. Professor Scott Morton lives in New Haven, Connecticut with her husband and three children.


Community Profile

The students have to know the abstract concept, and then apply the abstract concept to something real and concrete. Once you can pull the theory out of the particular example, you can talk about it much more articulately.


  • PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1994
  • BA, Yale University, 1989


  • Competitive Strategy MGT 525
  • Competition Economics & Policy MGT 589

Selected Articles

Patent Assertions: Are We Any Closer to Aligning Reward to Contribution?

F. Scott Morton and C. Shapiro
NBER Innovation Policy and the Economy

Strategic Patent Portfolio Acquisitions: an Economic Analysis

F. Scott Morton and C. Shapiro
Antitrust Law Journal


F. Scott Morton
Competition Policy International

Hospitals, Market Share, and Consolidation: How Should Policy React?

F. S. Morton & D. Cutler
Journal of the American Medical Association

Selected Working Papers

The Industrial Organization of the Biologics Industry: theory, empirics, and policy implications

F. M. Scott Morton, S. Stern, and A. Stern
Review of Industrial Organization

The Industrial Organization of the Biologics Industry: theory, empirics, and policy implications

F. Scott Morton, S. Stern and A. Stern

Incentives for Providers to Stay Out of Network

Z. Cooper, F.M. Scott Morton, and N. Shekita


  • Yale SOM Alumni Association Teaching Award, Yale School of Management Alumni Association, 2015-2015, 2006-2007
  • Health Care Research Award For "The Effect of Medicare Part D on Pharmaceutical Prices and Utilization" American Economic Review, Vol.100, No. 1, 590-607, with Mark Duggan, National Institute for Health Care Management, 2011
  • National Science Foundation Research Grant 1064341, "The Industrial Organization of the Biologics Industry: Theory, Empirics and Policy", 2011-2013
  • Excellence in Refereeing Award, American Economic Review, 2010, 2011
  • Green Award, Journal of Marketing Research, 2007
  • National Science Foundation Research Grant, 1998-2002, 2001-2003, 2005-2008