Skip to main content

GE Whiz What Happened? Lessons for Connecticut's Economic Growth

Wednesday, Feb 8 2017 at 6:00 - 8:30 pm EST

165 Whitney Avenue
New Haven, CT 06511
United States

GE’s decision to move its headquarters to Boston was viewed by many Connecticut residents as a major loss.  Others view it as an opportunity for Connecticut to push legislators to reform state government.  All Yale SOM alumni are invited to join Yale SOM’s Jeffrey A. Sonnenfeld, Senior Associate Dean for Leadership Programs & Lester Crown Professor in the Practice of Management, for a candid peer exchange entitled GE Whiz What Happened? Lessons for Connecticut’s Economic Growth, with discussion of the long-range impact GE’s exit will have on Connecticut and the regional economy.

Schedule: 6:00pm – Registration & Reception 7:00pm – Discussion

When: Wednesday, February 8, 2017 Where: Edward P. Evans Hall, 165 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06511 Cost: Free for alumni and guests

Parking Information: Parking will be available in Pierson-Sage Parking Garage located on the corner of Whitney Avenue and Edwards Street. Access the garage from Whitney/Humphrey or 340 Edwards Street. This garage is about 1 block from Edward. P. Evans Hall. Parking code forthcoming.

Space is limited and pre-registration is required: RSVP here   Walk-in seat availability not guaranteed


  • Jeffrey A. Sonnenfeld

    Senior Associate Dean for Leadership Studies & Lester Crown Professor in the Practice of Management

    Jeffrey Sonnenfeld served as full tenured professor at Emory's Goizueta Business School for a decade and a professor at the Harvard Business School for a decade, and is currently the senior associate dean of leadership programs as well as the Lester Crown Professor in the Practice of Management for the Yale School of Management, as well as founder and president of the Chief Executive Leadership Institute, a nonprofit educational and research institute focused on CEO leadership and corporate governance. Professor Sonnenfeld's related research has been published in 100 scholarly articles which appeared in the leading academic journals in management such as Administrative Sciences Quarterly, the Academy of Management Journal, the Academy of Management Review, the Journal of Organizational Behavior, Social Forces, Human Relations, and Human Resource Management. He has also authored eight books, including The Hero's Farewell, an award-winning study of CEO succession, and another best seller, Firing Back, a study on leadership resilience in the face of adversity.

  • Dannel Malloy

    Governor of Connecticut
    Distinguished Guest
  • Ted Kennedy, Jr. ’91 MES

    Senator, State of Connecticut
    Distinguished Guest
  • Ned Lamont ’80

    Founder & Chairman, Lamont Digital Systems
    Distinguished Guest
  • Ann Klee

    Vice President, Boston Development & Operations, General Electric
    Distinguished Guest
  • Arjun Ganesan ’12

    CEO, Ancera
    Distinguished Guest
  • Dan Esty ’86 J.D.

    Hillhouse Professor of Environmental Law & Policy, Yale Law School
    Distinguished Guest
  • Jim Torgerson

    Distinguished Guest
  • John Lapides ’72 B.A.

    CEO, United Aluminum
    Distinguished Guest
  • Josh Geballe ’97 B.A., ’02 MBA

    CEO, Core Informatics
    Distinguished Guest
  • Margaret Keane

    President & CEO, Synchrony Financial
    Distinguished Guest
  • David Scheer ’84 M.S.

    Chairman, Achillion Pharmaceuticals
    Distinguished Guest
  • Oz Griebel

    President & CEO, MetroHartford Alliance
    Distinguished Guest
  • John McKinney

    Former Connecticut State Senator
    Distinguished Guest
  • Brendan Sharkey

    Former Speaker of the House, 2013-2017
    Distinguished Guest
  • Scot Esdaile

    President, Connecticut State Conference, NAACP
    Distinguished Guest
  • John Olsen

    President Emeritus CT AFL-CIO
    Distinguished Guest
  • Themis Klarides

    Republican Minority Leader, Connecticut House of Representatives
    Distinguished Guest
  • Joseph F. Brennan

    President & CEO, CBIA
    Distinguished Guest
  • Matthew Nemerson ’81

    Economic Development Administrator, City of New Haven
    Distinguished Guest
  • Bruce Alexander ’65 B.A.

    Vice President for New Haven & State Affairs & Campus Development
    Distinguished Guest
  • Wayne Cooper

    Executive Chairman, Chief Executive Group
    Distinguished Guest
  • Marshall Cooper

    CEO, Chief Executive Group
    Distinguished Guest
  • Marna Borgstrom ’79 MPH

    President & CEO, Yale New Haven Health System
    Distinguished Guest
  • Christopher Swift

    CEO, The Hartford
    Distinguished Guest
  • David Robinson

    Executive Vice President & General Counsel, The Hartford
    Distinguished Guest
  • Andy Merrill

    Partner, Prosek Partners
    Distinguished Guest