Skip to main content

Yale Chief Executive Leadership Institute Presents Dr. Anthony Fauci with the Legend in Leadership Award

Yale Chief Executive Leadership Institute Presents Dr. Anthony Fauci with the Legend in Leadership Award

Anthony Fauci, M.D., director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, will accept the Legend in Leadership Award of the Yale School of Management’s Chief Executive Leadership Institute today, March 10, 2021, during the 110th Yale CEO forum held virtually over Zoom. 

The award will be presented to Dr. Fauci by Dr. Albert Bourla, chairman and CEO, Pfizer; Alex Gorsky, chairman and CEO, Johnson & Johnson; and Dr. Peter Salovey, president, Yale University. Summit organizer Jeffrey Sonnenfeld, senior associate dean for leadership studies at the Yale School of Management, commented: “Over the past 12 months, Dr. Fauci has become the world’s first and only virologist to become a household name. His unparalleled public prominence, however, does not overshadow his contributions to public health and public policy in the job has held for 37 years. Dr. Fauci, as the nation’s most trusted voice in science, has been a vital guide, navigating the nation to safety these past 12 months of the Covid-19 pandemic, revising recommendations with changing conditions and emerging research. He has championed science over superstition, policy over politics, and erudition over emotions. He has never shown haste or anger and resists responding to name-callers who do not like the truth he has shared. Through sagacity, experience, self-control, and humble self-criticism, he has applied his scholarship in the face of unrelenting media inquiries and personal threats to his personal security.”

This heroic role is not new to Dr. Fauci, who has led public health battles against infectious diseases such as HIV/AIDS, respiratory infections, diarrheal diseases, tuberculosis, and malaria, as well as emerging diseases such as Ebola and Zika.

Dr. Fauci has advised seven presidents on HIV/AIDS and many other domestic and global health issues. He was a principal architect of the President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR), a program that has saved millions of lives throughout the developing world.

Dr. Fauci is the recipient of numerous prestigious awards, including the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the National Medal of Science, the George M. Kober Medal of the Association of American Physicians, the Mary Woodard Lasker Award for Public Service, the Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research, the Robert Koch Gold Medal, the Prince Mahidol Award, and the Canada Gairdner Global Health Award. He also has received 45 honorary doctoral degrees from universities in the United States and abroad.

Dr. Fauci is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society, as well as numerous other professional and honorific societies. He serves on the editorial boards of many scientific journals and has authored or contributed to more than 1,300 scientific publications and several textbooks including, the iconic Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine.

 The Legend in Leadership Award was created 25 years ago to honor current and former CEOs who serve as living legends to inspire chief executives across industries, sectors, and nations. Past recipients include Doug McMillon, CEO, Walmart; Arne Sorenson, CEO, Marriott International; Andrew J. Young, mayor (1982-1990), Atlanta, Georgia, and U.S. ambassador to the United Nations (1977-1979); Brian C. Cornell, chairman and CEO, Target Corporation; Randall L. Stephenson, chairman and CEO, AT&T; Colin Powell, retired four-star U.S. Army general, chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff (1989–93), and 65th U.S. secretary of state (2001–05); Virginia M. (Ginni) Rometty, chairman, president, and CEO, IBM Corporation; Janet Yellen, former chairman of the Board of Federal Reserves; Paul Polman, CEO, Unilever PLC; Mary T. Barra, chairman and chief executive of General Motors Company; Brian Moynihan, chairman and CEO, Bank of America; David M. Rubenstein, co-founder and co-executive chairman, The Carlyle Group; Leonard S. Schleifer, president and CEO, and George D. Yancopoulos, president and chief scientific officer, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals; Brian Roberts, CEO of Comcast; Marillyn Hewson, CEO of Lockheed Martin; Jamie Dimon, CEO of JPMorgan Chase; and Ken Frazier, CEO of Merck. A full list of recipients can be found online.

The summit theme is “Building Back Better: US Business Promoting Healthy Economy, Healthy Community, & Healthy National Governance.” This lively, candid discussion with distinguished global corporate leaders from across industries will be the fourth CEO conference held remotely over Zoom. 

Summit participants include Michael S. Dell, Founder, chairman and CEO, Dell Technologies; Ajay Banga, executive chairman, MasterCard Worldwide; Michel A. Khalaf, president and chief executive officer, MetLife; Steve Case, founder and former CEO, America Online, and chairman and CEO, Revolution; Tamara L. Lundgren, chairman, president, and CEO, Schnitzer Steel Industries; David H. McCormick, chief executive officer, Bridgewater Associates; Edward H. Bastian, chief executive officer, Delta Air Lines; W. Douglas Parker, chairman and chief executive officer, American Airlines Group; David P. Abney, executive chairman, UPS; Patrick J. Ottensmeyer, president and chief executive officer, Kansas City Southern Industries; Lance Fritz, chairman, president, and CEO, Union Pacific Corporation; Lynn J. Good, chair, president, and CEO, Duke Energy Corporation; Carmine Di Sibio, global chairman and CEO, EY; Rich Lesser, president and chief executive officer, Boston Consulting Group; Sara Eisen, co-Anchor, CNBC; The Honorable Cedric Richmond, senior advisor to the president, White House Office of Public Engagement; Indra K. Nooyi, chairman and CEO (2006-2018), PepsiCo, Preetara LLC; Richard W. Edelman, chief executive officer, Edelman; Andrew Ross Sorkin, editor, DealBook, the New York Times; Albert Bourla, Ph.D., chairman  and chief executive officer, Pfizer; Alex Gorsky, chairman and chief executive officer, Johnson & Johnson; Stefano Pessina, executive vice chairman and CEO, Walgreens Boots Alliance; Nicholas T. Pinchuk, chairman and chief executive officer, Snap-on Incorporated; James P. Keane, president and chief executive officer, Steelcase; Danny Meyer, founder and chief executive officer, Union Square Hospitality Group; David Gibbs, chief executive officer, Yum! Brands; Ronald M. Shaich, executive chairman, Panera Bread; Jerry Greenfield, co-founder, Ben & Jerry's Homemade; Jonathan Greenblatt, CEO and national director, Anti-Defamation League; Kevin Hourican, president and chief executive officer, SYSCO Corporation; Benjamin A. Breier, president and chief executive officer, Kindred Healthcare; Adam M. Aron, president and chief executive officer, AMC Entertainment; Ynon Kreiz, chairman and chief executive officer, Mattel; and Paul Polman, chair and founder, Imagine.

Conference partners include AccuWeather, Edelman, EY, Galt & Company, Korn Ferry, UPS, and Wilson Sonsini.

The Chief Executive Leadership Institute was founded in 1989 to provide original research on top leadership and lively, current educational forums through peer-driven learning for accomplished leaders across a range of sectors. For more information, visit