Skip to main content

Legend in Leadership Recipients

The Legend in Leadership Award uniquely celebrates established CEOs who offer inspiring legacies of contributing creativity, character, and commercial impact across cultures, industries, countries, and continents. Nominees are offered by peers and confirmed by Yale academicians.

Legend in Leadershi

March 2024

Mike Sievert, President & CEO, T-Mobile 

January 2024

Shirley Tilghman, 19th President, Princeton University 

December 2023

Ajay Banga, President, World Bank Group

September 2023

Arvind Krishna, Chairman & CEO, IBM Corporation

June 2023

Steven Spielberg, Filmmaker & Chairman of Amblin Partners

March 2023

Kathy Warden, Chair, President & CEO, Northrop Grumman Corporation

January 2023

Hanna Holborn Gray, 10th President, University of Chicago

December 2022

Satya Nadella, Chairman & CEO, Microsoft

June 2022

President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, President of Ukraine

September 2022

Darius Adamczyk, Chairman & CEO, Honeywell

March 2022

W. Douglas Parker, CEO, American Airlines Group

December 2021

Albert Bourla, Chairman & CEO, Pfizer
Alex Gorsky, Chairman & CEO, Johnson & Johnson

September 2021

Lynn J. Good, CEO, Duke Energy

June 2021

Lisa Su, CEO,  Advanced Micro Devices

March 2021

Dr. Anthony Fauci, Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

December 2020

Doug McMillon, CEO, Walmart Corp.

September 2020

Arne M. Sorenson, CEO, Marriot International

June 2020

Brian C. Cornell, CEO, Target

December 2019

Randall L. Stephenson, CEO, AT&T

September 2019

Colin Powell, Retired Four-Star U.S. Army General; Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff (1989–93), and 65th U.S. Secretary of State (2001–05)

June 2019

Virginia M. (Ginni) Rometty, Chairman, President & CEO, IBM Corporation

March 2019

Janet Yellen, Former Chairman, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

December 2018

Paul Polman, CEO, Unilever PLC

September 2018

Mary T. Barra, Chairman and CEO, General Motors Company

June 2018

Brian Moynihan, Chairman & CEO, Bank of America

March 2018

David M. Rubenstein, Co-Founder & Co-Executive Chairman, The Carlyle Group

December 2017

Leonard S. Schleifer, President & CEO, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals
George D. Yancopoulos, President & Chief Scientific Officer, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals

September 2017

Brian L. Roberts, Chairman & CEO, Comcast Corporation

June 2017

Ronald M. Shaich, Founder, Chairman & CEO, Panera Bread

December 2016

Terry J. Lundgren, Chairman & CEO, Macy’s, Inc.

September 2016

Marillyn A. Hewson, Chairman, President & CEO, Lockheed Martin Corporation

June 2016

ZHANG Ruimin, Founder, Chairman & CEO, Haier Group

March 2016

Denise M. Morrison, President & CEO, Campbell Soup Company

December 2015

Kenneth C. Frazier, Chairman, President & CEO, Merck & Co.

September 2015

W. James McNerney, Chairman, The Boeing Company

June 2015

Ian M. Cook, Chairman, President & CEO, Colgate-Palmolive

March 2015

Lloyd C. Blankfein, Chairman & CEO, Goldman Sachs Group

Prior Winners

Klaus Kleinfeld, Chairman & CEO, Alcoa
JIANG Jianqing, Chairman, ICBC
GAO Xiqing, President & CIO, China Investment Corporation
D. Scott Davis, Chairman, UPS
Frank Blake, former Chairman & CEO, The Home Depot
Duncan L. Niederauer, former CEO, NYSE
Kenneth R. Feinberg, Managing Partner, Feinberg Rozen
Ellen J. Kullman, former Chairman & CEO, DuPont
David Stern, former Commissioner, National Basketball Associate
FU Chengyu, former Chairman, Sinopec
David M. Cote, Chairman & CEO, Honeywell International
Sir James Wolfensohn, Former President, World Bank Group
Jeffrey L. Bewkes, Chairman & CEO, Time Warner Inc.
Indra K. Nooyi, Chairman & CEO, PepsiCo
Jeffrey R. Immelt, Chairman & CEO, General Electric Company
Michael S. Dell, Chairman & CEO, Dell Inc.
Andrew Liveris, Chairman, President & CEO, The Dow Chemical Company
Kenneth Chenault, Chairman & CEO, American Express Company
Myron E. (Mike) Ullman, III, Chairman & CEO, JCPenney Company, Inc.
Alan Mullally, President & CEO, Ford Motor Company
Anne Mulcahy, Chairman, Xerox Corporation
Robert A. Iger, President & CEO, The Walt Disney Company
Ivan G. Seidenberg, Chairman & CEO, Verizon Communications
Jamie Dimon, Chairman & CEO, JPMorgan Chase
Louis V. Gerstner Jr., Former Chairman & CEO, IBM
Richard J. Harrington, Chairman & CEO, The Thomson Corporation
Stephen A. Schwarzman, Chairman & CEO, The Blackstone Group
Herbert V. Kohler Jr., Chairman, President & CEO, Kohler Company
Thomas G. Stemberg, Founder, Staples
Wilbur L. Ross Jr., Chairman & CEO, W.L. Ross & Company
Terry S. Semel, Chairman & CEO, Yahoo!
Ann M. Fudge, Chairman & CEO, Young & Rubicam
John E. Pepper Jr., Former Chairman & CEO, The Procter & Gamble Co.
Jack Valenti, Chairman & CEO, Motion Picture Association
Kenneth L. Wolfe, Former Chairman & CEO, The Hershey Company
John C. Bogle, Founder, The Vanguard Group
William W. George, Former Chairman & CEO, Medtronic
Roger A. Enrico, Former Chairman & CEO, PepsiCo