Skip to main content

Lifetime of Leadership Recipients

The Lifetime of Leadership award celebrates those transformational leaders whose character and sustained contribution span sectors, decades, and generations with wise ambassadorial service, mentoring contributing powerfully to improve business performance, economic growth, creativity, community vitality, human understanding, national strength, and global relations.

Lifetime of Leadership

December 2022

President Lech Wałęsa
President of Poland; Nobel Peace Prize laureate

December 2021

General Mark A. Milley
Chairman, U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff

June 2021

Lester Crown 
Chairman, Henry Crown and Company

December 2019

Carla A. Hills
U.S. Trade Representative (1989-1993) and Fifth U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development 

December 2018

Andrew J. Young
Mayor (1982-1990), Atlanta, Georgia; U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations (1977-1979) 

June 2018

Farooq Kathwari
CEO, Ethan Allen 

December 2013

David Stern
Former Commissioner, National Basketball Association

December 2011

Maurice R. Greenberg
Chairman and CEO, C.V. Starr & Co., Inc.

June 2010

John Whitehead
Co-Chairman (1976-1985), Goldman Sachs


Al Gordon
Honorary Chairman, Kidder, Peabody & Co.