Skip to main content

Yale Chief Executive Leadership Institute Presents Andrew Hamilton of New York University with the Legend in Leadership Award

Doug McMillon

New York University’s 16th president Andrew Hamilton will accept the Legend in Leadership Award from the Yale Chief Executive Leadership Institute on January 26 at the Yale Higher Education Leadership Summit. The award will be presented by Peter Salovey, 23rd President, Yale University; Lawrence S. Bacow, 29th President, Harvard University; and Carol T. Christ, 11th Chancellor, The University of California, Berkeley.

Summit organizer Jeffrey Sonnenfeld, senior associate dean for leadership studies at the Yale School of Management, commented: “We are thrilled to present this coveted leadership award to one the most revered, accomplished, eloquent, and beloved leaders in higher education today globally.” 

Andrew Hamilton became the 16th president of New York University on January 1, 2016. Under his leadership, NYU has made many profound advances in harmonizing its extensive global operations while fortifying its home base in New York City. Last month, NYU received more than 100,000 applications for first-year undergraduate admission, a 20% increase over last year, with a notable 22% increase in international applicants. Applicants to NYU represent more than 10% of all Common App unique applicants. This fall, NYU welcomed the most selective and diverse freshman class in its history. Since Hamilton’s arrival, NYU has increased its research expenditures at a rate higher than any other U.S. college or university. It has reached all-time highs in rankings of both national and international universities. At the same time, Hamilton put into place the lowest year-to-year increase in cost of attendance in two decades, in support of his priority of making NYU more affordable and accessible.

Prior to NYU, he served as the vice chancellor of Oxford University—the university’s senior-most officer—a position he assumed in 2009. His Oxford leadership was recognized for significant improvements in university governance and faculty relations; the launch of a new School of Government and the expansion of the business school; the enhancement of interdisciplinary research and teaching; the restructuring of Oxford’s medical school and hospital into a modern academic medical center; and the improvement of the university’s physical infrastructure, among other initiatives. Earlier, Hamilton had served as a very popular provost at Yale University, where he maintained his scholarly productivity as a chemist with an active research lab at the intersection of organic and biologic chemistry.

He is a fellow of the Royal Society, a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the recipient of the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society, and the winner of the International Izatt-Christiansen Award for Macrocyclic Chemistry. He also serves on the board of directors of the American Council on Education. He is the recipient of honorary doctorates from the University of Surrey, Tsinghua University, Koç University, and the University of Exeter, among others.

Hamilton holds a first-class BSc from the University of Exeter; a master’s degree from the University of British Columbia; and a doctorate from the University of Cambridge. He did his post-doctoral work at the Université Louis Pasteur in Strasbourg.

The Legend in Leadership Award was created 25 years ago to honor current and former CEOs and university presidents who serve as living legends to inspire leaders across industries, sectors, and nations. Past recipients include: Lawrence S. Bacow, 29th President, Harvard University; Donna E. Shalala, former President, University of Miami, and 18th secretary of health and human services; Johnnetta B. Cole, president emerita of the Smithsonian National Museum of African Art, and 7th president of Spelman College; Ruth Simmons, president of Prairie View A&M University, and 18th president of Brown University; Indra Nooyi, former CEO of PepsiCo; Arne M. Sorenson, CEO, Marriot International; Brian C. Cornell, CEO, Target, Mary T. Barra, chairman and chief executive of General Motors Company; Brian Moynihan, chairman and CEO, Bank of America; David M. Rubenstein, co-founder and co- executive chairman, The Carlyle Group; Leonard S. Schleifer, president and CEO, and George D. Yancopoulos, president and chief scientific officer, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals; Brian Roberts, CEO of Comcast; Marillyn Hewson CEO of Lockheed Martin; Jamie Dimon, CEO of JPMorgan Chase; and Ken Frazier, CEO of Merck. A full list of recipients can be found online.

The summit theme is “The COVID Crisis on Campuses: College Mission, Culture & Campus Life.” A group of revered presidents and board chairs from globally renowned colleges and universities will engage in lively, candid discussions at this invitation-only leaders’ conference hosted by the Yale School of Management.

Conference partners are TIAA, McKinsey and Company, Russell Reynolds Associates, and The Chronicle of Higher Education.