Yale School of Management

Donaldson Fellows

The Donaldson Fellows Program for Yale SOM Alumni recognizes graduates whose personal and professional accomplishments embody the school's mission to educate leaders for business and society. Donaldson Fellows come from all sectors and across the globe, sharing a dedication to solving complex problems and pursuing positive change in the world.

The program is named to honor SOM's founding dean, William H. Donaldson, who also founded an investment bank, served as an undersecretary of state, and led a major insurance corporation, the New York Stock Exchange, and the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.


Every two years, nominations for Donaldson Fellows are submitted by the Yale SOM community.  The Donaldson Fellows selection committee which includes Yale SOM alumni, including a former Donaldson Fellow, a Yale SOM student and members of the School’s leadership team review and choose the final honorees.  In selecting the Donaldson Fellows, the committee seeks a diversity of profile across many dimensions.  

In selecting the Donaldson Fellows, the committee seeks a wide range of experience, and a variety of industries, sectors, and time since graduation. The objective is to select those who live the Yale School of Management’s mission of educating leaders for business and society, meaning they:

  • Pursue their work with integrity;
  • Demonstrate reputation, leadership, and achievement in one’s chosen field; and
  • Pursue positive change in an increasingly global world

Donaldson Fellows

(affiliations at time of Fellowship)

Class of 2018-2019

Michael Apkon ’02, President and Chief Executive Officer, Tufts Medical Center and the Floating Hospital for Children
Curtis Chin ’90, Asia Fellow, Milken Institute
Louise Dube ’88, Executive Director, iCivics
Katherine Gross ’83, Director, The Charlotte Foundation
James Robertson ’99, Independent Consultant and Former Chief Executive, India HIV/AIDS Alliance

Donaldson Fellows

Class of 2016-2017

Danguole Altman '85, President and CEO, Vapogenix, Inc.
Joaquin Avila '82, Co-founder and Managing Director, EMX Capital
Colonel Rich Morales '99, Professor and Deputy Head of the Department of Systems Engineering, U.S. Military Academy at West Point
Dr. Ann Olivarius '86, Chair, McAllister Olivarius
Sandra Urie '85, Chairman Emeritus, Former CEO and COO, Cambridge Associates

Class 0f 2015-2016 Donaldson Fellows

Class of 2014-2015

Beth Axelrod '89, Senior Vice President, Human Resources, eBay Inc. 
Jaime Gonzalez Aguade '96, President, Mexican National Banking and Securities Commission
Kathie Julian '84, Country Director for Georgia, Asian Development Bank
Chuck Slaughter '90, Founder and CEO, Living Goods

Class of 2014-2015 Donaldson Fellows
From left: Dean Ted Snyder, Founding Dean William Donaldson, Beth Axelrod '89, 
Jaime Gonzalez Aguade '96, Kathie Julian '84, Chuck Slaughter '90, Jane Donaldson

Class of 2012-2013

Christine Bader '00, Visiting Scholar & Lecturer, Institute for Human Rights, Columbia University
Don Gips '89, Former United States Ambassador to South Africa
Nadim Matta '89, Senior Partner, Schaffer Consulting; President, Rapid Results Institute
Liang (Leon) Meng '97, Co-Founder Ascendent (Hong Kong)

Class of 2012-2013 Donaldson Fellows
From left: Donald Gips '89, Christine Bader '00, Dean Ted Snyder, 
Founding Dean William Donaldson, Jane Donaldson, Nadim Matta '89, Liang Meng '97

Class of 2010-2011

Bradley Abelow '89, Chief Operating Officer, MF Global, Inc.
Jennifer Niles '98, Founding Principal, E.L. Haynes Public Charter School
Ken Ofori-Atta '88, Executive Chairman and Co-Founder, Databank Financial Services, Ltd. (Ghana)
Hilary C. Pennington '83, Director of Education, Postsecondary Success, Special Initiatives, U.S. Programs, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Class of 2008-2009

Adam Blumenthal '89, Managing General Partner, Blue Wolf Capital Management
Laszlo Bock '99, Vice President, People Operations, Google, Inc.
Andrea Levere '83, President, Corporation for Enterprise Development
James Levitt '80, Director, Program on Conservation Innovation at the Harvard Forest, Harvard University
Elizabeth Thompson Serlemitsos '93, Chief Advisor, National AIDS Council, Zambia