Skip to main content

Chief Executive Leadership Institute Honors Reem Fawzy with Maverick in Leadership Award

Reem Fawzy

Reem Fawzy, founder and chief executive officer, Rimo Tours Group and Pink Taxi Egypt, will accept the Maverick in Leadership Award of the Yale Chief Executive Leadership Institute on December 17, 2019,  at a ceremony at the 100th Yale CEO Summit in New York City.

The award will be presented to Fawzy by Farooq Kathwari, chairman, president, and CEO, Ethan Allen; Dina Powell McCormick, U.S. deputy national security advisor (2017-2018) and member of the management committee, Goldman Sachs; and Josette Sheeran, president and CEO, Asia Society Global.

Summit organizer Jeffrey Sonnenfeld, senior associate dean for leadership studies at the Yale School of Management, commented, “Reem Fawzy is an inspiring, courageous, principled entrepreneur several times over, having launched her career as an accountant and MBA who became the general manager of the mid-sized travel agency. After several years, she quit to launch a travel agency and then the first taxi company in Egypt. In 2007, as a beneficiary of Goldman Sachs’ 10,000 Women program, she blended the enterprises to build Rimo Tours, which offers a full portfolio of travel and tourism services from transportation to lodging to sightseeing, car rentals, and events/conference management. In 2015, to combat the barrier of pervasive sexual harassment, she launched the renowned Pink Taxi business to provide training and safe employment for women drivers. She now has empowered roughly 1,000 women taxi drivers who are self-reliant for standard car repairs and driving skills. She donates 10% of Pink Taxi’s income to provide free breast cancer detections and treatment. The Pink Taxi company has been showcased in local and global media as well as in leadership forums across nations.”

The Maverick in Leadership Award recognizes current CEOs who are disruptors, bringing creativity with honorable character into their industries in new ways with global significance. Previous recipients of the award include: Edward W. Stack, chairman and chief executive officer, DICK’S Sporting Goods; Kay Koplovitz, founder, USA Networks, and managing partner, Springboard Growth Capital; Stuart A. Weitzman, founder, STUART WEITZMAN; Danny Meyer, CEO, Union Square Hospitality Group; John J. Legere, president and CEO, T-Mobile USA; and Alan Patricof, founder and managing partner, Greycroft Partners.

The Summit theme is “We Don’t Look 100 and Neither Do You: 2020 Perspectives from the Pioneers of CEO Leadership Forums.” This Summit marks the 100th gathering of distinguished global corporate leaders from across industries at this invitation-only leaders’ conference hosted by the Yale School of Management.

 Summit participants include: Lloyd C. Blankfein, senior chairman, The Goldman Sachs Group; Jeffrey L. Bewkes, former chairman and CEO, Time Warner Inc.; Danny Meyer, chief executive officer, Union Square Hospitality Group; Klaus Kleinfeld, chief executive officer, NEOM; Stuart A. Weitzman, founder, STUART WEITZMAN; Alan J. Patricof, managing director, Greycroft Partners; Mike Ullman, chairman, Starbucks; Ashton B. Carter; 25th U.S. Secretary of Defense and author, Inside the Five-Sided Box; Doug Parker, chairman and CEO, American Airlines Group; David J. Shulkin, 9th U.S. Secretary of Veterans Affairs; Richard V. Spencer, 76th U.S. Secretary of the Navy; Richard Adkerson, chief executive officer, Freeport-McMoRan; Neal Froneman, chief executive officer, Sibanye-Stillwater; Jim Sciutto, chief national security correspondent, CNN, and  author, The Shadow War; Matthew S. Levatich, president and CEO, Harley-Davidson Inc.; Nicholas T. Pinchuk, chairman and CEO, Snap-on Incorporated; John D. Negroponte, deputy secretary (2007-2009), U.S. Department of State; Stephen A. Schwarzman, chairman and CEO, Blackstone; Randall L. Stephenson, chairman and CEO, AT&T; Vicki A. Hollub, president and CEO, Occidental; Andrew Ross Sorkin; editor, DealBook, The New York Times, and co-anchor, CNBC; Lynn Tilton, chief executive officer, Patriarch Partners; Gregory J. Fleming, president and CEO, Rockefeller Capital Management; John J. Legere, president and CEO, T-Mobile US; David Gibbs, chief executive officer-elect, Yum! Brands; Maggie Wilderotter, chairman and CEO, Grand Reserve Inn; Adam M. Aron, president and CEO, AMC Entertainment; and Anthony W. Marx, president and CEO, The New York Public Library.

Conference partners include AccuWeather, Deloitte, Evercore, Gladstone Place Partners, IBM, IEX, Korn Ferry, PepsiCo, Samsung, UPS, and CNBC.

The Yale Chief Executive Leadership Institute was founded in 1989 to provide original research on top leadership and lively, current educational forums through peer-driven learning for accomplished leaders across a range of sectors. For more information, visit