Skip to main content

Chief Executive Leadership Institute Honors Ambassador Carla A. Hills with Lifetime of Leadership Award

Carla A.Hills

Carla A. Hills, U.S. trade representative (1989-1993) and fifth U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development, will accept the Lifetime of Leadership Award of the Yale Chief Executive Leadership Institute on December 17, 2019 at a ceremony at the 100th Yale CEO Summit in New York City.

The award will be presented to Secretary Hills by Eileen Murray, co-chief executive officer, Bridgewater Associates; and John D. Negroponte, U.S. ambassador to the UN (2001-2004) and U.S. Deputy Secretary of State (2007-2009); and Mike Ullman, retired chairman and CEO, JCPenney Company and chairman, Starbucks.

Summit organizer Jeffrey Sonnenfeld, senior associate dean for leadership studies at the Yale School of Management, commented, “Throughout nearly 50 years as a courageous voice on U.S. public policy, Ambassador Carla Hills has held key top roles in government guiding U.S. global trade policies and U.S. domestic urban affairs, as well as advisory service on a dazzling portfolio of corporate boards. After graduating Yale Law School, she began her career at the venerable firm Munger, Tolles, Hills, and Rickerhauser in Los Angeles. In 1974, she was appointed assistant attorney general in charge of the Civil Division of the U.S. Department of Justice. In 1975, she became the third woman in U.S. history to serve on a Presidential cabinet post. In that role she began a transformation at HUD to help subsidize individuals’ local community rental properties and affordable housing rather than the crime-infested massive housing project towers of an earlier era. As U.S. trade representative, from 1989 to 1993, she was the primary U.S. negotiator behind NAFTA, and later negotiated the needed repairs and updates to GATT in its Uruguay Round, removing many obstacles to free trade. She has served on such boards as AIG, AT&T, Chevron, Corning Glass, Gilead, Time Warner, and United Airlines. This past year, she has been one of the sharpest, most high-profile analysts of changing trade relations for the U.S. with China, Europe, Canada, and Mexico.”

The Lifetime of Leadership award celebrates those transformational leaders whose character and sustained contribution span sectors, decades, and generations with wise ambassadorial service, mentoring and contributing powerfully to improve business performance, economic growth, creativity, community vitality, human understanding, national strength, and global relations. Past recipients include: Andrew J. Young, mayor (1982-1990), Atlanta, Georgia and U.S. ambassador to the United Nations (1977-1979);

Farooq Kathwari, CEO, Ethan Allen; David Stern, former commissioner, National Basketball Association; Maurice R. Greenberg, chairman and CEO, C.V. Starr and Co., Inc.; John Whitehead, co-chairman (1976-1985), Goldman Sachs; and Al Gordon, honorary chairman, Kidder, Peabody and Co.

The summit theme is “We Don’t Look 100 and Neither Do You: 2020 Perspectives from the Pioneers of CEO Leadership Forums.” This summit marks the 100th gathering of distinguished global corporate leaders from across industries at this invitation-only leaders’ conference hosted by the Yale School of Management.

 Summit participants include: Lloyd C. Blankfein, senior chairman, The Goldman Sachs Group; Jeffrey L. Bewkes, former chairman and CEO, Time Warner Inc.; Danny Meyer, chief executive officer, Union Square Hospitality Group; Klaus Kleinfeld, chief executive officer, NEOM; Stuart A. Weitzman, founder, STUART WEITZMAN; Alan J. Patricof, managing director, Greycroft Partners; Mike Ullman, chairman, Starbucks; Ashton B. Carter; 25th U.S. Secretary of Defense and author, Inside the Five-Sided Box; Doug Parker, chairman and CEO, American Airlines Group; David J. Shulkin, 9th U.S. Secretary of Veterans Affairs; Richard V. Spencer, 76th U.S. Secretary of the Navy; Richard Adkerson, chief executive officer, Freeport-McMoRan; Neal Froneman, chief executive officer, Sibanye-Stillwater; Jim Sciutto, chief national security correspondent, CNN, and author, The Shadow War; Matthew S. Levatich, president and CEO, Harley-Davidson Inc.; Nicholas T. Pinchuk, chairman and CEO, Snap-on Incorporated; John D. Negroponte, deputy secretary (2007-2009), U.S. Department of State; Stephen A. Schwarzman, chairman and CEO, Blackstone; Randall L. Stephenson, chairman and CEO, AT&T; Vicki A. Hollub, president and CEO, Occidental; Andrew Ross Sorkin; editor, DealBook, The New York Times, and co-anchor, CNBC; Lynn Tilton, chief executive officer, Patriarch Partners; Gregory J. Fleming, president and CEO, Rockefeller Capital Management; John J. Legere, president and CEO, T-Mobile US; David Gibbs, chief executive officer-elect, Yum! Brands; Maggie Wilderotter, chairman and CEO, Grand Reserve Inn; Adam M. Aron, president and CEO, AMC Entertainment; and Anthony W. Marx, president and CEO, The New York Public Library.

Conference partners include AccuWeather, Deloitte, Evercore, Gladstone Place Partners, IBM, IEX, Korn Ferry, PepsiCo, Samsung, UPS, and CNBC.

The Yale Chief Executive Leadership Institute was founded in 1989 to provide original research on top leadership and lively, current educational forums through peer-driven learning for accomplished leaders across a range of sectors. For more information, visit