Skip to main content

Donaldson Fellows

The Donaldson Fellows Program for Yale SOM Alumni recognizes graduates whose personal and professional accomplishments embody the school's mission to educate leaders for business and society. Donaldson Fellows come from all sectors and across the globe, sharing a dedication to solving complex problems and pursuing positive change in the world. The program is named to honor SOM's founding dean, William H. Donaldson, who also founded an investment bank, served as an undersecretary of state, and led a major insurance corporation, the New York Stock Exchange, and the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.


Every two years, nominations for Donaldson Fellows are submitted by the Yale SOM community.  The Donaldson Fellows selection committee which includes Yale SOM alumni, including a former Donaldson Fellow, a Yale SOM student and members of the School’s leadership team review and choose the final honorees. In selecting the Donaldson Fellows, the committee seeks a wide range of experience, and a variety of industries, sectors, and time since graduation. The objective is to select those who live the Yale School of Management’s mission of educating leaders for business and society, meaning they:

  • Pursue their work with integrity;
  • Demonstrate reputation, leadership, and achievement in one’s chosen field; and
  • Pursue positive change in an increasingly global world

Past Fellows

(affiliations at time of Fellowship)

Class of 2021-2022

  • Lori Hotz ’94, Cofounder and Co-CEO, Lobus
  • Jane Mendillo ’84, Former President and CEO, Harvard Management Company
  • Amanda Skinner ’08, President and CEO, Planned Parenthood of Southern New England
  • Catherine Smith ’83, Board Member, Global Atlantic Financial Group
  • Josh Wright ’98, Executive Director, ideas42
Amanda Skinner
Jane Mendillo
Lori Hotz
Catherine Smith
Josh Wright
Pictured, clockwise from top left: Amanda Skinner ’08, Jane Mendillo ’84, Lori Hotz ’94, Josh Wright ’98, and Catherine Smith ’83

Class of 2018-2019

Michael Apkon ’02, President and Chief Executive Officer, Tufts Medical Center and the Floating Hospital for Children
Curtis Chin ’90, Asia Fellow, Milken Institute
Louise Dube ’88, Executive Director, iCivics
Katherine Gross ’83, Director, The Charlotte Foundation
James Robertson ’90, Independent Consultant and Former Chief Executive Executive, India HIV/AIDS Alliance

Donaldson Fellows

Class of 2016-2017

Danguole Altman ’85, President and CEO, Vapogenix, Inc.
Joaquin Avila ’82, Co-founder and Managing Director, EMX Capital
Colonel Rich Morales ’99, Professor and Deputy Head of the Department of Systems Engineering, U.S. Military Academy at West Point
Dr. Ann Olivarius ’86, Chair, McAllister Olivarius
Sandra Urie ’85, Chairman Emeritus, Former CEO and COO, Cambridge Associates

Class 0f 2015-2016 Donaldson Fellows